A Battle of Acumen and Rhetoric: UNESQUO Weekender

A Battle of Acumen and Rhetoric: UNESQUO Weekender

UNESQUO (BIT Mesra) conducted its two day-long-weekender that kickstarted on 24th August, 2019 with much fervor and exuberance.

Turncoat Debate
The event was held in LH-1 from 10:30 A.M on 24th August, 2019. The participants were required to flip their stance instantly on a single tap. The participants were judged by an eminent panel of judges consisting of  Achirava Raha, Shubhangi Das, Aman Mukherjee and Vivek Gupta. The event witnessed participants coming up with arguments for the motion “The house believes that with the abrogation of Article 35-A and Article 370, radical policymakers have rendered Kashmir to be nothing but a mortuary.” The results of the event were as follows:-

1.Bhavesh Chaturvedi

2.Vedang Raj

3. Bhavya Hooda and Sharanya Jha

Quantum Quiz
The event started at 5:30 P.M. in LH- 1 on 24th August, 2019 and witnessed huge participation. The quizmaster of the event was Anik Das. Participants were supposed to come in teams of 2-3. The preliminary round of the event was based on the theme ‘India’ and consisted of a total of 20 questions ranging from fields like politics to freedom struggle and sports. A total of 6 teams made it to the finals of the event. The finals consisted of a total of four rounds. The quiz concluded with the following teams making to the coveted podium positions-
1. Team Mandir Vahi Banayenge

2. Team Lallantop

3. Team Revenant

L.A to Bombay Quiz
The electrifying weekender came to an end with the much-awaited LA to Bombay quiz. The event was conducted on 25th August, 2019 from 4:45 P.M. As the name suggests, the quiz was based on a specific genre of entertainment and consisted of questions from Bollywood, Hollywood, and TV series. The quizmasters of the event were Debarun Sarbabidya, Nishant Singh and Amritya Singh from 2K17 batch. The preliminary round consisted of 20 questions with a total of 6 teams making it to the finals. 
The final round was a surprise for many. The finalist teams had to bid based on their scores and the rounds changed the dynamics of the event completely. 

The following teams emerged victorious-

1. Mandir wahin banaenge

2. Team Spectrum

3. Team Loggerheads

Reporter: Bhavesh Chaturvedi

Editor: Arpit Kujur

Picture Credits: Photographic Society, BIT Mesra

Leave a Reply