Chetan Devraj Cricket Tournament 2017 Day 1-3

Chetan Devraj Cricket Tournament 2017 Day 1-3

The Chetan Devraj Memorial Inter College Cricket Tournament is the annual inter college cricket tournament organized by BIT Mesra. The tournament, in its landmark 25th edition, is being held over a period of 5 days, with various colleges from the East zone of the country taking part. The 25th Chetan Devraj Cricket Tournament was inaugurated on 15th February, 2017 by the officiating Vice Chancellor Dr. B K Mishra. Faculties and staff of BIT Mesra along with the visiting team members witnessed the opening ceremony at The Oval. A total of 10 teams are participating in the tournament and the final will be taking place on 19th of February,2017.

Day 1

On the first day, 4 matches were played.The inaugural match was played between BIT Mesra and UCET Hazaribagh.The toss was won by UCET and they decided to bowl first. BIT Mesra seized the opportunity and scored 135/7 with Harshwardhan and Aditya contributing  28 &24 runs respectively. Then the BIT bowlers wrapped up the UCET innings at 88/9 to win by 47 runs with Ritwik and Ankit taking 3 wickets each and Aditya took 2 wickets.This was followed by a clash between NIFFT & BIT Lalpur. NIFFT won the toss and decided to bowl first.BIT Lalpur were restricted to 89/8 with Karthik making 27 runs.Prakash took 3 wickets and Roshan took 2 wickets.NIFFT chased down the target in 16 overs to end up  at 90/2.Prashant and Shivam Raj starred with the bat for the winning team with 40 and 23 runs as they cruised to an 8 wicket win.

chetan d 1

In the match between RTCIT Ranchi and BIT Deoghar, the toss was won by the former and they decided to field first.BIT Deoghar were bowled out for 129. RTCIT bowler Vikas Kumar took 3 wickets and Suraj took 2 wickets.RTCIT chased the target comfortably with 6 wickets in hand riding on Vikas Kumar’s 55 runs and won by 6 wickets. In the IIEST Shibpur vs BIT Patna match, IIEST won the toss and decided to bowl first. The IIEST bowlers ran through BIT Patna’s batting order to bundle them up at a mere 75 with Ayush Alok contributing 26 runs to the total. Aditya Kumar took 3 wickets and Subrit took 2 wickets.In reply IIEST made 76/3 with Sounak Ghosh-23 runs,Anurag-20 runs being major contributors as the team from Shibpur won by 7 wickets.

Day 2

Two matches were played on the second day of this tournament at the Oval cricket ground. Dr. Mahendra Kumar, Head of the Sports Department of BIT Mesra was in attendance during both the matches, his presence providing encouragement to the players to perform at their best. The matches are being played in 20 overs per innings format.In the first match of the day, VSSUT, Burla took on RTCIT Ranchi. The toss was won by RTCIC, who elected to bowl first. Batting at number 3, Suraj put on an impressive display, scoring 20 runs in just 19 balls. VSSUT were eventually bowled out for a score of 110 runs with Vikas picking up 5 wickets. Lead by Pawan, who fell for a score of 31, RTCIT managed to achieve the target, losing just 3 wickets along the way for a final score of 112/3 as they triumphed.The second match was a fierce contest between the players of IIEST, Shibpur and BIT, Kolkata. BIT Kolkata opting to bat first, put up a target of 112 runs. Akash, with a score of 40, was the top scorer for his side. But his efforts were in vain as the batsmen of IIEST, Shibpur showcased some amazing batting, managing to chase down the target as they emerged victorious. The audience were treated to some great displays of batting technique by the IIEST batsmen who were propelled by notableperformances from Rantim and Debjit, who scored 29 and 28 runs respectively while Subrit, Vaibhav and Sumit picked up 2 wickets each.The match brought to a close the events of the second day of the tournament.

Day 3

Day 3 of the Chetan Devraj Cricket Tournament saw some serious action. The first match was between BIT Deoghar and VSSUT, Burla. Both teams were determined to start their tournament with a win. BIT Deoghar won the toss and elected to field first. The decision was taken keeping in mind how the pitch played on day 2. VSSUT took to the field and went on to score 155 runs losing 8 wickets. Suraj was the highest scorer with 51 runs. He partnered well with Debabrata who just fell short of his half century at 43 runs. Vishal seemed to be the only bowler who troubled VSSUT batsmen taking 3 wickets. But the target was massive and chasing under pressure is never easy. BIT Deoghar lost their openers early and with them their hopes of winning the match. Matching up the required run-rate meant free stroke play which was not possible due to frequent wicket loss. Batsmen were not able to build partnerships and VSSUT bowlers were smart with their line and length. Eventually BIT Deoghar were all out for 116 in 16.5 overs. Vibhor was the highest run score with 23runs whereas Jena took 4 wickets.

chetan d 2

The second match of the day was played between BIT Patna and BIT Kolkata. BIT Kolkata won the toss and choose to bat first. BIT Patna had lost their first match and they had to win this to stay in the tournament. They bowled well and restricted the opposition to 128 runs. Ashish scored 31 runs whereas Avinash scored 30. Swami was the highest wicket taker for BIT Patna with 3 wickets. The target was an achievable one and BIT Patna had a good chance to chase this down. But BIT Kolkata bowlers had other plans. The way they moved the ball both in the air and off the pitch, they seemed unplayable. They were a mystery no batsmen had answer to. Ashutosh was the one who stayed for the longest time and managed to score 16 runs. BIT Patna lost the game to BIT Kolkata by 45 runs. Sunny was the highest wicket taker with 3 wickets. This saw the end of day 3 and with it the group stage of the tournament. The semi-finals will be played on 18th at the BIT Cricket Oval Ground. The first semi final will be played at 9:30 am between BIT Mesra and IIEST Shibpur, and the second semi final will be played at 1:15 pm between NIFFT Hatia and RTCIT Ranchi.

Reporters- Vivek, Shubh Goyal and Ayush Harsh
Editor- Subhankar Bose

Leave a Reply