Annual Athletic Meet ’17 – Day 1

Annual Athletic Meet ’17 – Day 1

The 31st Annual Athletic Meet of BIT Mesra commenced on the 3rd of February at the college’s sports complex. This year’s edition promises to serve up excitement and enthusiasm, with the best athletes the college has to offer going head to head with each other. The events are scheduled to take place over the next two days, taking over the lives of the sporting students of this technical institute for the weekend.

IMG-20170203-WA005The Inauguration ceremony began at 3:30 P.M. with the hoisting of the Institute flag by the Chief Guest, Dean of Academic Program, Professor Dr. B.K. Singh. He was accompanied by Dr. B.K. Mishra, Dean of Student’s Welfare. Next was a march past by the athletes taking part in the meet. Leading the march were the institute captains, Tulika Tiwari and Abhishek Singh. At the front of the pack were the female athletes. They were followed by the male athletes from various hostels, donning their newly-stitched jerseys. The athletes marched to music played by students of Metas of Seventh-Day Adventists School, Ranchi on their bagpipes and drums. They captivated the audience with their melodious beats. Hundreds of students showed up at the sports complex to cheer their friends on. Also in the crowd were Mahendra Kumar, Head of the Sports Department along with faculty members from various departments. The Chief Guest’s words inspired the athletes to perform to the best of their potential. He also urged them to exhibit the spirit of sportsmanship, and maintain equanimity in victory and defeat. With huge applause from the crowd, he declared the Annual Athletic Meet 2017 officially open, as the march past squads dispersed for the start of the athletic events of the evening.IMG-20170203-WA006

A total of 3 athletic events were held on the first day of this 3-day event. The results were as follows –

Men’s 800 m race

Banjop won the 800 m race in the most sensational manner, overtaking the then leader in the last few moments of the race. He finished the race in the impressive time of 2 min 23.6 secs. The second position was bagged by Sandeep while Suraj Oraon came in third, just a split second behind him.

Men’s Shot Put

In the shot put event, it was Chandra Bhushan Sharma who was able to hurl the ball the farthest. The second position was bagged by Pingal Tirkey , while Sanjan Roy Chowdhary, who led after the first round, came in third.

Women’s 1500 m race

Tulika Tiwari came out on top in the Women’s 1500 m run with a dominant time of 8 min 7.9 secs, while Reta Rani bagged the second position. In third position was Rashmi Jha of the 2k14 batch.

And thus ended the events of the first day of this meet, which celebrates athleticism and sportsmanship in the grandest fashion. An exciting lineup of events awaits the students, as the meet is expected to further pick up steam in the coming days.

Reporter: Shubh Goel
Editor: Abhayankar Joshi

Leave a Reply